The contest

Find out all the information on TROPHY Contest.

What is it?

Laboratoires Thea is a European pharmaceutical company, based in France and 100% specialized in ophthalmology. Laboratoires Thea has been working closely for almost 20 years with European ophthalmologists. Education has always be a tradition for the Chibret family and for Thea for several generations. Laboratoires Thea now supports several educational activities, among them the European Board of Ophthalmology.

In 2012, Laboratoires Thea has launched its first annual International contest of clinical cases in ocular pathologies: TROPHY.

The Théa interRnational cOntest of clinical cases in PatHologies of the eYe (TROPHY) is designed to encourage presentation and communication skills of residents and fellows in ophthalmology. The contest is open to residents and fellows and takes place every year.

Participants submit a clinical case they were involved in and which is original from a scientific standpoint. The clinical cases shall be related to a pathology which can be different from year to year.

Topic 2023-2024: The Secret To Ocular Surface Success: Don’ Forget Eyelids!

What is the prize?

The 3 winners are invited by Laboratoires Thea to present their clinical case during Théa symposium at the ARVO meeting in the USA in May with expenses paid for by Théa (registration, travel and accommodation).*

They are also invited to attend the EVER meeting the same year and the ARVO meeting the year after, as a TROPHY ambassador.


The authors of the best clinical cases from each participating country will be invited to the EVER congress to meet with the other winners.

A dedicated brochure will also be edited with all the best cases.

* Laboratoires Théa shall comply with all local applicable law and regulation regarding the declaration to a medical council or any competent entity where the healthcare professional is registered and with the reporting and declaration to a public audience or a competent authority of interests it may have with healthcare professionals.

Who can participate?

The contest is open to all residents or fellows in ophthalmology from the following countries:

EUROPE: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, Ukraine

SOUTH AMERICA: Chile, Mexico, Peru, Brazil, Colombia

NORTHERN AFRICA: Algeria, Morocco, Tunisia

MIDDLE EAST: Dubai, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates.